Astrology Services Articles Resources

The Ten Planets

The Ten PlanetsThe planets regulate energy flow and represent the dimensions of experience.

In Astrology ten of the heavenly bodies are used because of their size, proximity and influence on the earth, and its human, animal, vegetable, and mineral kingdoms. In the proper order of their speed through the Zodiac they are: the Moon, Mercury, Venus, the Sun, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune and Pluto.

The benefic planets are Jupiter and Venus; is known as "the greater fortune" and Venus is "the lesser fortune." The influence of the Sun and Moon is considered good also.

Mercury, Neptune and Pluto are neutral planets—their influence is good when they are well aspected with other planets, but malefic when adversely aspected.

When you see words like "malefic", "adverse", "bad", "unfavorable", etc., bear in mind that such terms are used only for want of terminology that more fittingly describes planetary vibrations.

All signs and all planets are good but our human reactions may be bad, according to our stage of development. No planets are evilin nature, but our manifested responses may be judged as good or adverse.

- Principle
- Urged Represented
- Needs Symbolized

Sun: Vitality; sense of individuality; creative energy, radiant inner self (attunement of soul); essential values
Urge to be and to create
Need to be recognized and to express self

Moon: Reaction; sub-conscious predisposition; feeling about self (self-image); conditioned responses
Urge to feel inner support; domestic and emotional security urge
Need for emotional tranquility and sense of belonging; need to feel right about self

Mercury: Communication; conscious mind (i.e., logical or rational mind)
Urge to express one’s perceptions and intelligence through skill or speech
Need to establish connections with others; need to learn

Venus: Emotionally-colored tastes; values; exchange of energy with others through giving of self and receiving from others; sharing
Social and love urge; urge to express affections; urge for pleasure
Need to feel close to another; need to feel comfort and harmony; need to give of self’s emotions

Mars: Desire; will toward action; initiative; physical energy; drive
Self-assertive and aggressive urge; sex urge; urge to act decisively
Need to achieve desires; need for physical and sexual excitement

Jupiter: Expansion; grace
Urge toward a larger order or to connect self with something greater than self
Need for faith, trust, and confidence in life and self; need to improve self

Saturn: Contraction; effort
Urge to defend self’s structure and integrity; urge toward safety and security through tangible achievement
Need for social approval; need to rely on one's own resources and work

Uranus: Individualistic freedom; freedom of ego-self
Urge toward differentiation, originality, and independence from tradition
Need for change, excitement and expression without restraint

Neptune: Transcendent freedom; unification; freedom from ego-self
Urge to escape from the limitations of one's self and of the material world
Need to experience a oneness with life, a complete merger with the whole

Pluto: Transformation; transmutation; elimination
Urge toward total rebirth; urge to penetrate to the core of experience
Need to refine self; need to let go of the old through pain