Astrology Services Articles Resources

The Twelve Signs

The Twelve SignsThe signs are the primary energy patterns and indicate specific qualities of experience.

The Zodiac is a circle of space in the sky, containing the orbits of the planets. It may be imaged as a belt of space in the heavens about 15 degrees wide in which the planets travel. It is also Sun's apparent path called the ecliptic. The zodiacal circle is divided into twelve parts; each part contains 30 degrees of space, making total of 360 degrees in the circle. The twelve divisions are known as the signs of the Zodiac.

Each zodiacal sign possesses a certain specific influence and quality of its own. The revolution of teh earth arround the Sun, complete in one year, causes the Sun to appear to travel through the Zodiac at the rate of one sign per month, or approximately through one degree per day and its influence (according to sign and degree) determines not only the seasons but also the generalnature and character of beings at that time.

The various planets as they travel through the Zodiac also exert an influence according to their separate natures and in correspondence with the quality of each aspect which they may form, blended with the nature of the signs in which they located. The luminaries (Sun and Moon) are classified as planets for convenience.

Aries, Leo, Sagittarius

Fire Signs express the warming, radiating, energizing life principle which can manifest as enthusiasm, faith, encouragement, and the drive to express self.

Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn

Earth Signs reveal an attunement with the world of physical forms and a practical ability to utilize and improve the material world.

Gemini, Libra, Aquarius

Air Signs are correlated with the mind's sensation, perception, and expression, especially related to personal interaction and to geometrical thought forms and abstract ideas.

Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces

Water Signs symbolize the cooling, healing principle of sensitivity, feeling response, and empathy with others.